GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (GRPS) -- Ten scholars will be inducted into the highly esteemed Ottawa Hills High School Academic Hall of Fame.

The honor is a longstanding tradition at Ottawa Hills, dating back to the 1970s.

"Scholars who are inducted into the Ottawa Hills Academic Hall of Fame join an elite group of students over that past half century," said Ottawa Hills High School Principal Dr. Timothy Mabin.

"Our scholars are dedicated learners who deserve to be celebrated," said Ottawa Hills High School Assistant Principal Vanessa Allen. "As a community, we honor and celebrate our Academic Hall of Fame inductees."

The GRPS community is invited to attend the Academic Hall of Fame Awards Banquet on Wednesday, May 15, from 5:30 - 7 p.m. in the mall at Ottawa Hills High School, 2055 Rosewood Ave. SE.

The 10 inductees for 2023-24 are:


  • Edwin Cuellar-Cruz
  • Farhiya Mberwa


  • Rafael Diaz
  • Sapphire Leer
  • Milagros Negrete


  • Anthony Cox
  • Charles Curtis


  • Samiya Douglas
  • Miguel Jeronimo-Perez
  • Jeannette Muhawenimana

To be inducted into the Academic Hall of Fame, freshmen must have a 4.0 grade point average (GPA), sophomores must have a cumulative 3.8 GPA, juniors must have a cumulative 3.7 GPA, and seniors must have a cumulative 3.5 GPA.